In Wheel Chair, 88 Years Old, and Texting

I try to get my work done early on Wed….so I can visit my Mother.  Each visit is a surprise I must say.  I actually had a legal pad on the passenger’s seat, trying to make all of my phone calls to clients, feedback, etc. and answering emails at stop lights.  I know this is not a good thing to do but at least I don’t text while I am driving.

The first question she had for me today, “Did you watch the Duke and O.S.U. game? ”

“What do you think will happen to Fickell? ”  “Did you get my text last night?”

A few months ago, she started wearing her cell phone around her neck so we could talk to her when we wanted to know how she was doing…She does love answering her phone…esp. when other residents are watching.  But now, yes…she is texting…with some help from her caregivers…but she is learning fast.  I spent a few hours putting her summer/fall clothes away and getting her winter clothes in her closet…special section for long sleeve O.S.U. tops.  We put her Christmas tree up…OSU tree.  As I was getting ready to leave, she kept thanking me and said…”I hope your girls do the same for you someday, which was nice but as I was walking towards the elevator, I had to smile, will I be as entertaining when I am 88?

1 Comment

Filed under Family Matters, Uncategorized

One response to “In Wheel Chair, 88 Years Old, and Texting

  1. aawwwwhhh.. that is precious!! Love it!! And knowing Andi as i do… not to mention your other daughter, I’m sure you will be right with it, even in old age… who knows what the hip techie gadget of the day will be then… one can only wonder. It will probably have O S U on it somewhere.

Leave a Reply

